Kung Fu Camp Week

This week I am sitting in a tiny, approximately 7 foot X 5 foot airless room in my daughter’s Kung Fu school, every day, all day so I can monitor her sugar and insulin levels while she attends Kung Fu camp with her friends and fellow practitioners. I could focus on how unbearably hot I am, on how stinky and stifling the air is in here (think 98 degrees, 20 kids aged 5 to 17 running around non-stop in a 20 X 30 foot space with low ceilings and one small window), or on the fact that there is no chair for me to sit on, no outlet for me to plug my computer into, so what am I going to do when the battery gets too low, which will be in about 1/2 an hour, at which point there will still be 4 and 1/2 hours to go…? However, I am choosing to look at this as a kind of zen experience. I am going to work on my blog; something I never get a chance to do (I swear I am going to find an extension cord;at least bring one tomorrow!). I am maybe going to be able to do a little bit of my pilates work. I am remembering times and places in which I was way hotter than this (Indonesia, southern Mexico, Morocco). If my daughter’s sugar is holding steady and I know she won’t get low, I might go for a walk, plus there’s a rumor they may go practice in the park in the afternoon, where I won’t be able to work on the computer, but at least there’ll be a breeze, and by that time I will be more than ready for it. So, ready, set, go! Some more recipes to follow…

Leave a Reply

