Pumpkin Muffins and Cinnamon Orange Cardamom Swirl Pumpkin Pie (Grain/Gluten-free;Sugar-free)

Pumpkin Muffins
These are SO good! I “discovered” this recipe by accident once, when I had planned to make almond-butter-carrot muffins, at my daughter’s behest, and suddenly realized I had no carrots on hand, but did have a can of organic pumpkin puree (this time of year, when gourds abound, making your own pumpkin puree can be great too)…

Ingredients:
1/3 cup almond flour
1 cup almond butter
1 and 1/2 cups pumpkin puree
1/4 cup butter, melted over low heat
2 eggs
1 T maple syrup
1 T maple extract
Approximately 14 scoops of KAL organic stevia (or to taste)
1 heaping T cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 to 1 tsp powdered cloves
1/2 tsp cardamom (optional)
1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease muffin pans (this makes about 10 to 12 medium-sized muffins)
Mix the pumpkin puree and almond butter together until well-combined, then beat in the eggs, syrup and butter. Combine the almond flour, stevia and spices. Add to the wet ingredients, mix until combined, then scoop into greased muffin pan. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a fork stuck in the middle just barely comes out clean.
These keep well in the fridge for at least a week. They freeze well for months.

*******************************************************************************************************************

Cinnamon Orange Cardamom Swirl Pumpkin Pie
I’ve never actually been a huge fan of pumpkin pie, but this one I love–I think it’s the combination of the slight hint of orange and cardamom combined that makes it so good. I came up with it when I was on a complete cardamom kick last year–just couldn’t get enough of it. It was winter, it’s a warming spice. What can I say…?

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Crust:
1 and 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
3/4 cup butter, melted
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 T vanilla extract

Combine all ingredients well and press into a pie pan. Bake for about 15 minutes, until just barely starting to brown. remove from oven and let cool completely.

Filling:
2 cups pumpkin puree
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted over low heat
1/4 cup butter, melted over low heat
3/4 coconut cream or full-fat coconut milk
2 eggs
1 T vanilla extract
Grated rind of one orange
12 to 14 scoops KAL organic stevia (or to taste)
1 T cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground cardamom

Beat the eggs well, then add pumpkin, coconut oil, butter, stevia, vanilla extract and grated orange rind. Continue to beat (or whisk) until frothy and the stevia is pretty well-dissolved. Combine all the spices in a small separate bowl. Pour the pumpkin mixture into the cooled pie crust, then sprinkle the spices into it, stirring just enough to make swirly patterns. Bake for about 40 minutes, or until firm and a fork stuck into the middle comes out clean.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins and Cinnamon Orange Cardamom Swirl Pumpkin Pie (Grain/Gluten-free;Sugar-free)

  1. Muffins are out of this world!!!!! I shared them with 2 diabetic neighbors and they loved them. Thanks for taking care of us Celiac’s too!

  2. I have to laugh because I tried to make these, of course, I hardly ever have the exact ingredients for a recipe, but here’s what I did: I roasted some pumpkins with coconut oil and salt and then scooped them out and pureed them (now I have extra in the freezer; labeled to boot!). I even went to the store to buy almond flour. But, didn’t have stevia powder or maple syrup and some mystery brown powder in my pantry that I decided was as close to nutmeg or cloves as I was going to get. I used honey instead of maple syrup and a bit of 1/4 dropper of vanilla stevia.But, I really under-sweetened them! They turned out really good! Maybe not as sweet as if I used the stevia in the recipe (or another sweetener). And then, because it’s my daughter’s 6.5 birthday, I whipped up some raw cream and topped it with a raspberry and called it a half birthday cupcake. I hope it shows my picture. http://www.chicshadesofgreen.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/cupcake.jpg Thanks for the recipe, I pinned it!!

Leave a Reply

