Finding time

OK, I’m totally new at this. Have been trying to find a few minutes to sit down and write something on here in the “About” section, to explain who I am, what I am doing, all that. However, a week has gone by and I haven’t had one moment. How do people find time to BLOG? I swear, I will at some point write something “about,” but it’s not going to be today, so thought I’d just start in on a daily rambling journal, to get myself writing, and to figure out the technical aspects of all of this (it just took me 4 days to figure out how to get one of my own photos onto the header). Obviously, I am a luddite, a dinosaur. My 6-year-old daughter could probably figure this out more quickly than I can. Which takes me back to wondering how people find time for this (everyone keeps telling me to watch out, that once I figure it out I’ll be addicted. I can feel the urge already…). Well, maybe I’ll finally start writing the “journal” I’ve been meaning to write since my daughter was born, or since we moved to this property from California almost 4 years ago (there’s a little bit of “about” for you. Maybe that’s how I’ll do it. Sporadically, in minute increments).

So, finding time…. I have herbs to harvest already, garden beds to dig and plant, a book I’m writing to work on, the beginnings of a nutritional/herbal cooking workshops business to deal with, and I’m “on call” for my type 1 diabetic daughter’s para at school today, which means I have to be texting back and forth all day, helping her figure out what to do depending on what my daughter’s sugar is doing. Today was weird. She inexplicably went low an hour after breakfast, the opposite of what usually happens. She had a home-made kefir smoothie with blueberries, almond butter, a raw egg yolk from our local friends’ farm, a little bit of stevia, some vitamin C and quercetin. Nothing new. Same amount of insulin as when she had the same thing last week, and she plummeted. She has a Continual Glucose Monitor (CGM) that helps us get some sleep (more about this later), and makes it so she doesn’t have to have finger-prick tests every 45 minutes at school when her sugar’s acting unpredictably (which at this age is often, what with growth spurts, fighting off colds, varying levels of daily exercise, etc.). The CGM saved us from a low low today, plus she actually felt low, which is rare at best, though she’s slowly learning what the difference between feeling low and feeling high and just feeling awful for some other reason is. It all takes time…

That’s it for now. Time’s up. Got to get ready to go up to school to give her insulin for lunch, as the para takes off for a lunch break and then has to supervise the entire school for recess and lunch with only one other adult’s help (we have a really cool small kind of co-operative experiential learning-based school in our town–more about that later too. No federal funding, so no full-time, one-on-one para. One of us has to go up every day for at least 45 minutes, sometimes an hour and 1/2). That’s me today. This will get more interesting once I get it going. I’m not even going to bother editing this, as I’m not even sure it will get posted, because I have no idea what I am doing, and not time to read through everything on here, so let’s see…

Later.

yummy veggie platter

Leave a Reply

